If a record is locked by a User, the below message will show. This can happen if the user hard closed the Spire application or potentially due to an error closing Spire.
"This record cannot be modified because it is in use by"
To resolve this, first try the first option below and the second after.
1. Have the User mentioned in the Alert re-open the record and Save and Close.
2. Sometimes the above option is not possible if the person is off. In this case, have a User that has the User Setting 'Unlock Record' open the record and Take Ownership. The User that clicks Take Ownership must be 100% confident that someone is not still editing the record. Because if the user that is mentioned in the Alert is still editing the record , they could loose that changes that anyone else made when they click Save.